艺术家戴维·里卡德(David Rickard)谈论将合作作为制作艺术的工具

艺术家戴维·里卡德(David Rickard)谈论将合作作为制作艺术的工具
大卫·里卡德(David Rickard)在新西兰南部阿尔卑斯山攀登Erewhon时获得艺术品“在阿尔卑斯山中漫步”(无人中路)。克里斯·里卡德(Chris Rickard)摄影。

大卫·里卡德(David Rickard)谈艺术合作,重点是他的新展览《外国机构》

是什么让您想到了“外国机构”项目?

该项目首先考虑到最近政治中国际边界的逐步巩固,并考虑了使我们相互联系的世界运转的国际协议。这项工作建立在许多近期项目的基础上,这些项目考虑了我们与空中的关系(例如 排气),以及通过与遥远地方的人们联系而实现的一系列协作作品。

当您谈到逐步巩固国际边界时,您能否详细说明一下?特朗普的隔离墙会是一个例子吗?

是的,特朗普的隔离墙是我所指的更明显的例子之一。目前,英国脱欧和无数国际协议正在受到侵蚀。

Globus 2019
Globus 2019
艺术品本身是通过协作过程衍生并成型的吗?

收到空气样本后,将它们合并在定制的玻璃容器中。

该项目的第二阶段涉及与科学玻璃器皿鼓风机的合作,后者负责确定玻璃器皿的尺寸和形式。 

最后的工作结合了多种协作的痕迹,形式是跟踪全球联系的邮政信箱,协作者拍摄的图像,重要的是玻璃容器中包含建立在信任与协作基础之上的脆弱的,不可见的“国际领空”。 

“国际空域”涉及与1919年签署《巴黎公约》的27个国家/地区的人们的合作

您能否告诉我们更多有关项目合作方面的信息?

“国际空域”工作涉及与1919年签署《巴黎公约》的27个国家中的每个国家的人们进行合作,这是有关空域治理的首个国际协议。在这些国家中,每个地方的合作者都拍摄了空气样本和几张照片。我已经向每个人发送了采集空气样本所需的设备和拍摄照片的指南,但是他们可以自由选择位置并相应地解释指南。 

遥远的节奏2019

遥远的节奏

您如何选择采样人员?

在一些国家中,有一些我认识的人,但是在许多国家中,这是第一次与人建立联系的情况。通常,合作者会涉及不同类型的画廊或艺术空间。从博物馆到艺术家经营的空间和社区团体。

该项目开始时考虑到最近政治中国际边界的逐步巩固

您能详细说明一下杰里罐和鼓棒如何适应展览吗?它们与展会的国际空域部分有何关系?

“遥远的节奏”和“球状”还考虑了边界以及材料和位置之间的联系。

“遥远的节奏”是一对鼓槌,由在Kupo,新西兰和西班牙Algaidas的对立地点生长的树木形成。 [两个鼓槌中的每个鼓槌都是由不同树种的木材制成的。] 

[演奏时]节奏节奏最初是为了在长征中保持步伐和精力而发展的,他们还提到了运动,迁徙和力量的广泛政治。

“杰里·坎”的名字是指第二次世界大战期间首次使用这种设计的德国军队。船只的设计是如此成功,以至于联军改变了自己的罐头以匹配它,这也使得当双方都声称拥有领土时,船只可以轻松地在部队之间迁移。

形成“球形”的罐子会打孔直到基本透明,因此溶解的边界会露出内部的铝球。由从容器皮肤上去除的材料铸造而成,材料太大而无法通过其嘴部容纳,则实心球仍保留在内部,形成该球体。 

在展会的背景下以及总体而言,合作的主要好处是什么?最大的好处是什么?   

“国际空域”工作是从国际合作的理念发展而来的,没有全球其他人的帮助就不可能完成这项工作。我对交换空气看似徒劳的活动所产生的对话和交流很感兴趣。最后,除了协作的痕迹之外,结果仍然是看不见的。

大卫·里卡德(David Rickard):伦敦Copperfield画廊的外国机构

星期三至星期六至2020年4月18日

Artist David Rickard talks about employing collaboration as a tool in making art

Artist David Rickard talks about employing collaboration as a tool in making art
David Rickard climbing Erewhon in the Southern Alps in New Zealand for the artwork A walk in the alps (the middle of nowhere). Photo by Chris Rickard.

David Rickard talks about collaboration in art, with a focus on his new exhibition Foreign Bodies

What gave you the idea for the Foreign Bodies project?

The project started by thinking about the gradual solidification of international borders within recent politics, and considering the international agreements that allow our interconnected world to function. The work builds on a number of recent projects that have considered our relationship with the air (such as Exhaust) and also a series of collaborative works which have been realised through the connection of people in distant places.

When you talk about gradual solidification of international borders, could you elaborate on this a bit? Would Trump’s wall be an example?

Yes, Trump’s wall is one of the more obvious examples I’m referring to. There’s also Brexit and a myriad of international agreements that are currently being eroded.

Globus 2019
Globus 2019
Were the artworks themselves derived from and shaped through a collaborative process?​

Following the receipt of the air samples they are being combined within a bespoke glass vessel.

This second stage of the project involves collaboration with a scientific glassware blower, who is involved with determining on the size and form of the glass vessel. 

The final work combines traces of multiple collaborations, in the form of the postal boxes that track the global connections undertaken, images taken by collaborators and importantly the glass vessel containing a fragile, invisible ‘international airspace’ built on trust and collaboration. 

‘International Airspace’ involves the collaboration with people located within each of the twenty seven countries that signed the Paris Convention in 1919

Could you tell us more about the collaborative aspect of the project, please?

The work ‘International Airspace’ involves the collaboration with people located within each of the twenty seven countries that signed the Paris Convention in 1919, the first international agreement on the governance of airspaces. Within each of these countries a local collaborator has taken a sample of the air and several photographs. I’ve sent to each person the equipment needed to take the air sample and guidelines for taking the photos, however they have been free to select the location and interpret the guidelines accordingly. 

Distant Rhythm 2019

Distant Rhythm

How did you select the people who take the samples?

In some of the countries there were people that I knew, however in many it was a case of connecting with people for the first time. Generally the collaborators are involved with galleries or art spaces of different types; from museums to artist run spaces and community groups.

The project started by thinking about the gradual solidification of international borders within recent politics

Could you elaborate on how the Jerry Can and drum sticks fit into the exhibition? How do they relate to the International Airspace part of the show?

‘Distant Rhythm’ and ‘Globus’ also consider borders and the connections between materials and place.

‘Distant Rhythm’ is a single pair of drumsticks formed from trees growing in antipodal locations of Kupo, New Zealand and Algaidas Spain. [Each one of the two drum sticks is made from the wood of a different species of tree.] 

[When played] with cadence rhythms originally developed to sustain pace and energy during long marches, they also reference the wider politics of movement, migration and power.

The name ‘Jerry Can’ refers to the German army that first used this design during the second world war. So successful was the design of the vessel that the allied forces changed their own cans to match it, which also allowed for the vessels to easily migrate between forces when territories were claimed by either side.

The can that forms ‘Globus’ is perforated until largely transparent, so the dissolved boundary reveals a sphere of aluminium inside. Cast from the material removed from the vessel’s skin and too large to fit through its mouth, the solid globe remains internalised within the body from which it is formed. 

And both in he context of the show and in general, what are the main benefits of collaboration? What is the biggest benefit?   

The work ‘International Airspace’ is developed from the idea of international collaboration and the work couldn’t have been made without help from others located around the globe. I’m interested in the dialogue and exchange that’s generated from the seemingly futile activity of exchanging air. In the end the result remains invisible other than the traces of collaboration.

David Rickard: Foreign Bodies at the Copperfield gallery, London

Wednesday to Saturday until 18 April, 2020

Close Menu
Close Panel