中央(中央)

您当前正在查看 Centrala (The Central)
Keret House by Centrala

在家庭阁楼上工作,Malgorzata Kuciewicz、Krzysztof Banaszewski 和 Jakub Szczesny 在九十年代中期的一个学生节上开始合作。作为设计师的工作组 Centrala,他们的第一次联合竞赛直到 2001 年才在华沙重新设计公共广场的项目中获得第二名。从那时起,他们的工作已经跨越到艺术、建筑、城市规划和家具设计。

尽管由三位主要的华沙建筑师领导,Centrala 的人数随着需求的增加而膨胀。当这种情况发生时,Kuciewicz、Banaszewski 和 Szczesny 拥有一个多学科的专业人士网络来帮助他们。

从华沙技术大学 (WAPW) 毕业,Szczesny 的过去也从事视觉传播和插图工作,曾为波兰版的花花公子、生活方式杂志和广告公司工作。 WAPW、Kuciewicz 和 Banaszewski 的毕业生也带来了其他技能。 Kuciewicz 是“在景观方面的出色作曲家,”Szczesny 说,“当涉及到小规模的物体时,比如家具或享乐主义的小玩意。 Krzys [Banaszewski] 是一位伟大的分析家和战略家,能够设计和规划结构对象或工程流程。”

Szczesny 说,一开始,将三人聚集在一起的共同兴趣是采取“批判性方法”,“面对共产主义阴暗岁月留下的现实和对建筑中商业实践的盲目复制,他们以他们的方式主宰了新的波兰现实。大规模生产。”

在参加比赛时,Kuciewicz、Banaszewski 和 Szczesny 还想就这座城市正在消失的建筑遗产引发公众辩论。 2002 年至 2006 年间,他们在媒体上的四个“诱饵项目”引发了开发商关于如何拯救建筑,尤其是现代主义作品的讨论。

Centrala 的四项挑衅性提案概述了在城市周围重复使用建筑物的方法。 Szczesny 说,它想展示保存作品将如何通过维护多层历史结构来提供“文化丰富”。想法包括将加油站变成建筑和城市设计画廊,将玻璃展馆变成旅游信息中心。尽管如此,这些建筑物还是被拆除了。

该集团的建筑工作范围从快速重新设计的公寓内部到将火车站售票处改造成文化中心。在与波兰公司 Bulanda & Mucha 建筑师合作的同时,他们为未来的波兰犹太人博物馆设计了一个弯曲的蓝色帐篷状临时展馆。

为了给波兰带来建设性的改变,Centrala 花了近十年的时间专注于“色彩、感官体验和更广泛的反思”,Szczesny 说。 “这就是我们如何站在建筑、设计、城市设计和艺术的边缘。”

发表于多莫斯。

Centrala (The Central) 不是一家事务所,它更像是一个由三位不同背景、不同兴趣或偏好的建筑师组成的平台,共同补偿:例如,Gosia 在景观方面是一位出色的“作曲家”,相反,当它谈到小规模的物体,如家具或享乐主义的小玩意,而 Krzys 是一位伟大的分析家和战略家,能够设计和规划结构物体或工程流程(也许也是因为他的家庭背景:他的父亲是 Rucker 机械部门的负责人,主要为大众汽车工作)。

雅库布·什琴斯尼

我们为每项任务组成和重新组成自己,从大量具有不同特征的自由建筑师中选择合作者。

雅库布·什琴斯尼

使我们走到一起的是对共产主义阴暗岁月留下的现实和对建筑中商业实践的盲目复制的批判性方法,这些商业实践以其大规模生产主导了新的波兰现实。

我们选择与我们的同事保持距离,并尝试以更理想化的方式思考如何建设性地改变波兰——并非真正出于爱国的原因,而是我们没有看到其他机会,也没有真正设法融合自己进入我们学习的地方提供的现实,例如芬兰、德国、法国甚至巴塞罗那。

我们讨厌那个时代的波兰灰色和无知的赚钱,我们想要色彩、感官体验和更广泛的反思。这就是我们如何站在建筑、设计、城市设计和艺术的边缘。我们喜欢它。我们的铜化 [原文如此] 始于波兰东部的一个学生节(2002 年?),然后我们在 Krzys 家建立了一个文凭工作室,致力于我们的毕业项目,然后在获得学位后我们开始了建筑竞赛。

雅库布·什琴斯尼

Centrala (The Central)

Centrala (The Central)
Keret House by Centrala

Working out of a family attic, Malgorzata Kuciewicz, Krzysztof Banaszewski and Jakub Szczesny first started working together at a student festival in the mid-nineties. As Centrala, a designers’ task force, their first joint competition wasn’t till 2001, when they won second place for a project to redesign a public square in Warsaw. Since then their work has crossed into art, architecture, urban planning and furniture design.

Although headed by three principal Warsaw-based architects, Centrala’s numbers swell as the need arises. When that happens, Kuciewicz, Banaszewski and Szczesny have a multi-disciplinary network of professionals to call on to assist them.

Graduating from Warsaw Technical University (WAPW), Szczesny’s past is also in visual communication and illustration, working for the Polish edition of Playboy, lifestyle magazines and ad agencies. Graduates too of WAPW, Kuciewicz and Banaszewski bring other skills to the table. Kuciewicz is an “excellent composer when it comes to landscape,” says Szczesny, “and when it comes to small scale objects, like furniture or hedonistic gadgets. Krzys [Banaszewski] is a great analytician and strategist, able to design and plan structural objects or engineering processes.”

At the beginning, what brought the three together was a common interest in taking a “critical approach,” says Szczesny, “towards both the reality left by murky years of communism and mindless reproduction of commercial practices in architecture who dominated new Polish reality with their massive production.”

While entering competitions, Kuciewicz, Banaszewski and Szczesny also wanted to stir up public debate on the city’s disappearing architectural heritage. Between 2002 and 2006, their four ‘decoy projects’ in the press sparked discussion about how to save buildings, particularly modernist works, from the developers.

Centrala’s four provocative proposals outlined ways to reuse buildings around the city. It wanted to show how saving the works would provide ”cultural enrichment,” says Szczesny, “through maintenance of a multilayered historical structure.” Ideas included turning a petrol station into an architecture and urban design gallery and a glass pavilion into a tourist information centre. The buildings were demolished nonetheless.

The group’s built work ranges from a rapidly redesigned apartment interior to the conversion of a train station ticket office into a cultural centre. And while teaming up with Polish firm Bulanda & Mucha architects, they designed a curvy blue tent-like temporary pavilion for the future Museum of Polish Jews.

Wanting to bring constructive change to Poland, Centrala has spent nearly a decade focusing on “colour, sensual experience and broader reflection,” says Szczesny. “This is how we landed on the edge of architecture, design, urban design and art.”

Published in Domus.

Centrala (The Central) is not a firm, it’s more a platform composed by three architects with different backgrounds and interests or preferences that compensate together: Gosia for instance is a excellent “composer” when it comes to landscape and, as opposite, when it comes to small scale objects, like furniture or hedonistic gadgets, while Krzys is a great analytician and strategist able to design and plan structural objects or engineering processes (maybe because of his family background too: his father was the head of mechanical department in Rucker, working mainly for Volkswagen).

Jakub Szczesny

We compose and recompose ourselves for each assignment choosing cooperators from a large pool of freelancing architects with different profiles.

Jakub Szczesny

What has put us together was a critical approach towards both the reality left by murky years of communism and mindless reproduction of commercial practices in architecture who dominated new Polish reality with their massive production.

We chose to distance ourselves a bit from our collegues and try to think in more idealistic terms about how to constructively change Poland – not really for patriotic reasons, rather that we haven’t see other opportunities, and didn’t really manage to blend ourselves into realities offered by places where we studied, such as Finland, Germany, France or even Barcelona.

We hated polish greyness and ignorant money-making of that time and we wanted colour, sensual experience and broader reflection. This is how we landed on the edge of architecture, design, urban design and art. And we like it. Our copperation [sic] started with a student festival in eastern Poland (2002?), than we’ve established a diploma workshop in Krzys house working on our graduation projects, than, after getting our degrees we started with architectural contests.

Jakub Szczesny